What’s goin on?

I am safe. I write to you now from my warm comfortable bed. It’s around 9pm and I am going to sleep through the night and be able to wake up in the morning to a new day full of opportunity. I am safe.

The children in Aleppo, Syria are not.

At 8:42 pm on April 27th the Al Quds hospital was bombed by militant forces from the Bashar regime. 42 doctors, residents, and patients were killed, including children and the only remaining pediatrician in Aleppo, Dr. Muhammad Maaz.

The people of Syria are not safe.

aleppo

I did not find this out from a news outlet. I found out from a friend of mine. This friend of mine, who happens to be a young muslim woman, expressed her disgust in this attack on Facebook and I was unaware that it even happened. We spoke on it in a private message and she expressed that she felt helpless to do anything. I expressed that as long as we had the courage to use the tools we have to get the word out that we were helping.

I realized that my advice was something that I never had acted upon myself. I never spoke out against a tyrant. I had never protested war. I had never actually tried to help the progress of peace. I was just a lot of talk.

When I think of protest, I think of parades of people with picket signs chanting and singing songs of peace and freedom. The sad thing is that it doesn’t happen that way anymore. We as a society have become frightened of standing up for what is right. These recent attacks in Aleppo have opened my eyes to that. And I am disgusted. I am outraged.

I believe in peace. I believe in freedom. Not just for one group or creed but for everyone. I believe that deep down it is apart of the human make up to want peace. I believe war is wrong regardless of reason.

I do feel that we, not just the United States, but the world need to help Syria and every country like it that is under oppression from corrupt governments and leaders. But that doesn’t mean war. To quote Ralph Waldo Emerson; “Peace cannot be achieved through violence, it can only be attained through understanding.” When we as a species begin to understand and accept each other for our differences, then and only then can we truly obtain peace.

Until then we must fight for it. But not with weapons. We must fight with words. We must fight with actions of good. We must fight with acceptance in a world that tells us we must all be the same to be accepted.

My opinion may not seem like it’s worth a penny, but the moment that we start being silent to tyranny is the moment that tyranny has won. As long as I breath I will do my best to fight the good fight and try to make a world that not only my children but every child can be free and safe.

War, what is it good for? Absolutely nothing!

nothealthy

Leave a Reply

