History has it’s eyes on me

I’m so sorry if nothing you’re about to read makes sense, but it happens to be late at night and I’m writing because my mind is racing. Grammar and spelling are not probably going to be to par. I’m also listening to the Hamilton soundtrack so I may quote it a lot (and use lots of related gifs). But at least I’ve warned you.

So recently I’ve been having reservations about my choice in my current career path. For those who don’t know after I failed my audition to get into Western’s school of music, I almost immediately decided to go into Radio Broadcasting. It seemed like the perfect fit for me. I love music, but I’m not so great at performing it. But I’m extremely knowledgable of it. Like I have favorite artists and songs you’ve never heard of. But as the new school year approaches I wonder to myself late at night, if this is really the right path for me.

There is no doubt in my mind that I can become a radio dj. It’d be very easy and I could very possibly have a job in two years. I could easily find my place in that field and I’m sure I’d spend most of my life very content with my life. But then is content what I want? Am I ready to resign myself into a life that’s easy? Can I be okay without challenge?

tumblr_nv9afeg69h1r04ydno3_500

 

There are essentially two sides to me. First there is the super caring and protective side of me. Like overly caring, no one in this world will ever care about me as much as I care about them. A lot of my life I’ve seen this as a curse. But maybe not.

The second side is that which yearns for half a chance to prove myself. A chance to do something that’s bigger than myself. Just like the song from Hamilton, “I wanna be in the room where it happens.” Since I was little I’ve always felt this higher calling, something telling me that I’m meant to change the world.

“Honestly, that’s why Public Service seems to be calling me.”

tumblr_inline_o1j2sn0m801rnjunv_500

You heard me right. I’m actually thinking about going into Politics. Now before you go into the argument of “You’re only doing this because of the election” or “Hamilton is influencing you too much” save your breath. Because you’re totally right. Recent events have influenced my decision, but this is far from the first time that I’ve had the thought. And that fact does not take away from my desire to make change and help people.

I don’t have a plan just yet, but every day that goes by more and more I am convinced that I will never be satisfied with being content, which is all I will ever be if I go into radio. I’ve looked into my future and thought of every possible scenario and they are boring. Comfortable, but boring. I would be settling and that is something no one should do.

I am not yet 100% on my decision, more like 90%. But that’s why I’ve decided to take classes this fall that will apply to a political science degree (But they also apply to my current associates in arts degree, so I’m not wasting time.) But I’m slowly becoming more and more determined to make this decision happen.

tumblr_nznpr67ofx1ukhudfo1_540

I don’t know what the future holds for anyone. I don’t know what will happen. But I am certain that I can do anything that I set my mind to. And I do believe that the best way for me to help people is through the political system. I will speak more on this in the future for sure. Whatever I decide to do, know I will reach my goals because “I’m just like my country, I’m young, scrappy and hungry.”

À bientôt

635979336123722115740106205_tumblr_inline_o2jc20sems1qiq5w9_500

Leave a Reply

