Strong without permission: My top ten Feminist influences

It’s no secret that everyone has role models, wether they be celebrities, teacher or family members. Everyone has people who shape the way we grow and our ideals as adults have so much to do with that. It’s also probably not a big secret that I’m a feminist. If it was well then surprise! But I’ve had so many strong female role models in my life, it’s hard to imagine myself as not being feminist. So in honor of #femtasticfriday (which is a thing I do on instagram that I need to bring back) I thought I’d give you my top ten Feminist role models that made me the feminist I am today.

10. Beyoncé

beyonce_hair_flip

Of course, of course, of course. In recent years especially Bey has been a very important and prominent feminist icon with things like her performance of flawless at the vma’s with Niki Minaj a few years back.  But for me it goes back into her Destiny’s Child days. When little Chelsea heard survivor for the very first time all I could think was “That’s the kind of woman I want to be.” Throughout her career she’s enforced the idea that being a strong woman doesn’t mean you can’t have a family and love and at the same time you can be a fierce lioness that don’t take no shit from anybody.

9. Gloria Steinem

o-gloria-steinem-awards-570

As a huge symbol of modern day feminism, I couldn’t not be influenced by Gloria. Though I have to be completely honest and say that I did not learn about her until I saw Legally Blonde the Musical, in which Elle, in her playboy bunny costume, states that she’s dressed as Steinem who went undercover as a bunny to uncover their treatment by the company and the men in the club. (Which was not great in case you were curious) But outside of that she’s been on the front line of the feminist fight, not only in America but across the world, for around fifty years! Which is both an amazing accomplishment and a sad realization that after fifty years there is still a fight.

8. Elle Woods

6359758825113317931640345245_what3f20like20its20hard3f

Speaking of Legally Blonde. Elle Woods is possibly one of my favorite feminist. A lot of people want to say that she’s not because “She only went to Harvard for a boy.” or “She’s  too vapid and not serious.” All you haters can listen to number ten and get to the left. Okay the first point is valid, but the fact is that her goal of going to law school with Warner was so important to her it gave her the determination to defy and highly exceed everyone’s expectations of her and she got into Harvard! And then once she realized that he wasn’t worthy of her, she began to prove her worth as a good lawyer and continue to excel in a field everyone constantly told her she wasn’t good enough for. All while still being a super sweet and caring person, and rocking some killer fashion.

7. Sailor Moon

tumblr_noqrmjtrc11twyshko1_500

This show was the staple of my cartoon experience when I was little. And it was so important too! The entire basis of it is that there’s a group of regular teenage girls who repeatedly save the entire world. And I mean sure they have super powers, so to speak, but the show constantly points out that their greatest power is determination, love and friendship. I feel like that is the strongest message to send to young girls feminist or not. Have faith in yourself and those that care about you and you can literally do anything.

6. Britney Spears

tumblr_mao31fzx0v1r3ty02o1_500

Say everything bad you want about her, because I guarantee that it will 1. Not phase me a bit and 2. Not effect the positive impact she has had on my life. Alot of people see her as a horrible role model because of her tendency to be sexually promiscuous in her performances, songs and style. But that’s exactly why I love her. Britney’s sexual prowess is what’s inspired me, especially as of late, to be a lot more confident and comfortable with my own body. And besides who’s saying sex is a bad thing, because if it was such a bad thing, the human race would have died out a long, long time ago.

5. My best girl friends

13570_10201315818873988_2112109281_n

(Kenny get’s to be an honorary girl friend because he went to a Backstreet Boys concert with five girls because why not right?)

I would hope all of my friends consider themselves feminist, but even if not I’ve learned to much from all of them about what being a feminist in our generation means. They’ve taught me that setting goals for myself and being the best at what ever I want to be the best at is the best way to succeed in life. And that having fun along the way is the best way to smash the patriarchy. Because we’re strong, smart, sensual women who know how to have fun and don’t need no damn man. (But they’re still nice to have around.)

4. Hermione Granger / Emma Watson

tumblr_no0b6b9byv1uovi2lo1_400

So I know it’s a little weird that I put both in one, but I do because of this reason. It’s obvious that Hermione was written to be a very strong female character within the Harry Potter series and it’s very obvious that she influenced how Emma grew up portraying her for as long as she did. While I’ll admit the whole magic portion sounded wonderful, why I really wanted to be like Hermione when I was little was because she was who she was and she didn’t change for anyone. She wasn’t perfect and she had her moments of weakness, but how she overcame those moments and showed her strength is what I aspired to be like. And now I see Emma Watson as this strong willed fighter who will not stop until women do have equality  and I see someone that I still aspire to be like.

3. Demi Lovato

tumblr_mw6ny2jrqp1sez3glo1_500

From the very first time I saw Demi I knew there was something extremely special about her. And I’m happy I was beyond right. As someone who has struggled with issues of self worth and depression, to see the amazing transformation she’s gone through from being extremely self conscious and having an eating disorder to this fierce woman who won’t let anyone tell her what to be is empowering af! As she’s grown into a more confident person, it reflects in everything she does to the point that she is the embodiment of girl power.

2. Rowan Blanchard

ewvne9

Here’s what I love about Rowan Blanchard. She’s very aware of everything going on in this world. And she’s only fifteen. That is a big deal and here’s why: When I was fifteen my biggest worry was wether or not the guy I liked at the time would ever notice me (yes I had a yandere complex) I had no clue what was going on outside of my little bubble. This girl does. And beyond just impressing me, it’s empowering. It show’s that a younger generation is getting involved in political debates and civil rights and feminism at a younger age then my generation or those before me. It gives me so much hope for the future, a future where my daughters won’t have to even think about the problems we have now.

1. My mom

485698_3678581519650_1482124777_n

My mother is the strongest woman I know, and yes I’m being 100% biased but she’s my mom and I can be. She has done everything she could to raise my two siblings and I basically all on her own and never once has she asked for anything in return. She’s constantly doing things that women aren’t supposed to do, because that’s a mans job. Woman worked for 25 years in construction in a time where it was unheard of for woman and even more so for them to become foremen, which she did! I’m extremely proud to be her daughter and that I’ve been able to learn a thing or two.

Strong women raise strong women. And it’s so incredibly important to raise strong women. I need feminism because I want a world that one day I’ll be able to bring a little girl or two into where they won’t feel like they are any less than any man. I need feminism because I want to be able to decide what career path to follow and have nothing hold me back except fair competition. I need feminism because I can do anything I put my mind to and I don’t need nobody telling me I’m wrong.

À bientôt

giphy1

Leave a Reply

